Election Results Available As They Come In

The polls are now closed in the general election. Votes throughout the state are being counted. Winners from this election will begin their terms on July 1.

The U.S. Justice Department will monitor elections in the six following cities: Brookhaven, Greenwood, Isola, Meridian, Philadelphia and Ruleville. This is to ensure that people are not facing discrimination based on race and other factors while trying to vote in this election.

Cities getting new mayors are Brookhaven, Clarksdale, Clinton, Gulfport, Pascagoula and Tupelo, where incumbents are not seeking re-election. In Jackson and Vicksburg, incumbent mayors were defeated in May's party primaries. 

Some local mayoral races include:

In Jackson, Democrat Chokwe Lumumba faces three independents: Cornelius Griggs, Francis Smith, Jr. and Richard C. “Chip” Williams, Jr.

In Clinton, Republican Phil Fisher faces Democrat Rodney C. Carter. Five-term Republican incumbent Rosemary Aultman did not seek re-election.

In Vicksburg, Democratic state Rep. George Flaggs faces independent Darryl Hollingsworth. One-term Democratic Mayor Paul Winfield was defeated in the party primary.

Now that the polls have closed, News Channel 12 will track the results in key areas as they become available. You can also find these results here by clicking on “Election Results.” We'll have complete coverage of the election coming up tonight at 10.


blog comments powered by Disqus