Mississippi bans text-and-drive, repeals inspection sticker

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) – Starting Wednesday, people driving in Mississippi can be penalized for sending text messages or posting to social media sites while they’re behind the wheel.

But, the state is also giving drivers a break by eliminating the $5 annual vehicle inspection sticker

Several new state laws take effect Wednesday. Among them is the texting-and-driving ban, which carries a $25 penalty the first year the law is in effect and $100 after that.

Another law eliminates the need for a concealed-carry license to have a gun in a purse, briefcase or enclosed satchel.

Another one requires boards of publicly owned hospitals to keep most of their meetings open to the public. It was prompted by problems with the Singing River Hospital pension program.

(Copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s