Jackson metro counties burn ban list

JACKSON, MS – Several Jackson-metro area counties are under burn bans.

The Mississippi Forestry Commission has issued a list of the dates the burn bans were issued and the dates they are expected to be lifted.

It reads as follows:

“Madison Co.

issued: 07-20-2015; expires: 08-20-2015; exemptions: 2,3,4

Hinds Co.

issued: 07-21-2015; expires: 08-19-2015; exemptions: 2,5

Jefferson Davis Co.

issued: 07-23-2015; expires: 08-07-2015; exemptions: 2,3,5

Simpson Co.

issued: 07-24-2015; expires: 08-23-2015; exemptions: 2,3

Lawrence Co.

issued: 07-27-2015; expires: 08-17-2015; exemptions: 5

Copiah Co.

issued: 08-03-2015; expires: 09-08-2015; exemptions: 2,3,5

Adams Co.

issued: 08-03-2015; expired: 08-31-2015; exemptions: 2,5

Smith Co.

issues: 08-03-2015; expired: 09-03-2015; exemptions: 2,3,5″

The Mississippi Forestry Commission also released a list of exemptions for bans. They are as follows:

“1. No exemptions from this burn ban

2. Mississippi Forestry Commission

3. Certified Burn Managers

4. County Fire Services

5. Commercial contractors with heavy construction equipment, providing that said burn meets the State’s DEQ regulations. MDEQ regulations regarding open burning of brush piles require a separation distance of 1,500 feet from a residence without forced air assistance and 500 feet with forced air assistance.

6. Agriculture field burn

7. Other: USFS Homochitto National Forest”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s