More counties added to disaster declaration for December storms

Severe storms rip through Como, Miss. on Dec. 23, 2015.

JACKSON, Miss. (WJTV) —  Gov. Phil Bryant said more counties have been added to Mississippi’s disaster declaration from the December severe weather.

Residents in Monroe, Prentiss, and Panola counties are now eligible for FEMA’S Individual Assistance Program.

“These designations are the next step to helping Mississippians recover from December’s storms,” Gov. Bryant said. “We will continue to work with local, state, federal, nonprofit and volunteer agencies to assist with any unmet needs and in counties not designated for federal assistance.”

The five original counties under the declaration are Benton, Coahoma, Marshall, Quitman and Tippah counties. Residents in Monroe, Panola and Prentiss counties who have already registered for disaster assistance with FEMA do not need to register again.

Residents and businesses affected in Benton, Coahoma, Marshall, Monroe, Panola, Prentiss, Quitman and Tippah counties may apply now by going to or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Those who are deaf, hard of hearing or speech impaired can call 1-800-462-7585. Those who use 711 or Video Relay Services can call 1-800-621-3362 to register.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s