Bryant asks for more counties affected by flooding to be added to declaration

JACKSON, Miss. (WJTV) — Gov. Phil Bryant is asking for several more counties to be added to the Individual Assistance Declaration that’s already in place for some flood victims.

Bryant asked the federal government to add Clarke, Forrest, Greene, Jones, Marion, Panola, Perry, Quitman, Sunflower, Tunica and Wayne counties as major disaster areas.

Bolivar, Coahoma and Washington counties were designated for FEMA’s Individual Assistance Program on March 25.

As damage assessments continue, Bryant said additional counties may be requested as well.

Officials said floodwaters continue to affect some areas of the state, so the MEMA/FEMA joint damage assessment teams are unable to reach some locations.

If Gov. Bryant’s request is approved, those affected by flooding in those areas can use federal aid to help with recovery efforts.

Initial estimates showed more than 650 homes in Mississippi sustained major damage or were destroyed as a result of the flooding in March.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s