Social media sent into panic after Yahoo’s April Fools prank article on Trader Joe’s

Your news feed may be blowing up with a post by Yahoo that Trader Joe’s will close all their stores by 2017.

Don’t fret Trader Joe’s lovers, thankfully it’s an early April Fools’ Day joke.

An article titled “Trader Joe’s to Close All Stores by 2017, Plans to Discontinue Products” was posted on Yahoo’s website on Thursday and the post circulated on social media all day.

trader joes facebook

“In a surprising press release this morning, Trader Joe’s announced they will be closing all 457 locations by January 2017. Despite widespread protests from consumers, Trader Joe’s has no plans to continue manufacturing or distributing any of its signature vegetarian, vegan, and organic products.”

At the end of the article, the author writes, “If this shocking news hits you as hard as it hit me, fear not. It’s merely April 1st. Now go celebrate being a fool with your favorite cheap wine.”

Yahoo eventually removed the article from its website.

Accident or not, the Internet reacted swiftly, including a series of tweets from model and television star Chrissy Teigen.

“there is no ‘early’ april fools joke. u can start effing with ppl/planting seeds but NO EARLY PUNCHLINES,” Teigen wrote on Twitter. “this freakin world i’ll tell ya.”

https://twitter.com/chrissyteigen/status/715648440080818176

“Come on, @YahooNews: posting an #AprilFools story about #TraderJoes closing all stores… a day early? Bad form,” CNN entertainment reporter David Daniel tweeted.

https://twitter.com/CNNLADavid/status/715646986716782592

Twitter users were not impressed with the news, many were pretty upset!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s