More counties added to Disaster Declaration

PEARL, Miss. (WJTV) – More Mississippi counties have been added to the disaster declaration list from recent flooding and severe storms in March.

Residents of George and Pearl River counties can now apply for FEMA’s Individual Assistance Program according to the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency.

These counties now join Bolivar, Clarke, Coahoma, Forrest, Greene, Jones, Marion, Panola, Perry, Quitman, Sunflower, Tunica, Washington and Wayne.

More counties could join this list after pending damage assessments are completed.

FEMA’s Individual Assistance Program helps those who qualify with temporary housing, uninsured or underinsured personal property losses, medical, dental and funeral expenses caused by the disaster, other disaster-related expenses or serious needs and low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are available to cover residential and business losses not covered by insurance.

If you live in one of the above counties and would like to apply for assistance, you are asked to apply at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). For those who are deaf, hard of hearing or speech impaired can call 1-800-462-7585; those who use 711 or Video Relay Services can call 1-800-621-3362 to register.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s