UPDATE: Dozens of burn bans issued across State of Mississippi

Mississippi Forestry Commission

UPDATE: 10/06/2016 2:57pm: More counties are being added to the Forestry Commission’s burn ban list. See a complete list here. 

UPDATE: 10/06/2016 12:55pm There are now 29 burn bans in effect throughout Mississippi.

According to the Mississippi Forestry Commission, the following counties are now affected:

  • Alcorn
  • Benton
  • Calhoun
  • Chickasaw
  • Choctaw
  • Clay
  • Humphreys
  • Itawamba
  • Kemper
  • Lafayette
  • Lauderdale
  • Lee
  • Lowndes
  • Marshall
  • Monroe
  • Montgomery
  • Pantola
  • Pontotoc
  • Prentiss
  • Rankin
  • Tallahatchee
  • Tippah
  • Tishomingo
  • Union
  • Warren
  • Washington
  • Wayne
  • Webster
  • Winston

UPDATE: The are now 26 burn bans in Mississippi. Humphreys, Itawamba, Montgomery, Warren, Washington, and Wayne counties have been added to the list.

JACKSON, Miss. (WJTV) — There are 20 burn bans that have been issued for the State of Mississippi.

One of those ins in the Metro area, in Rankin County.

Photo: Mississippi Forestry Commission
Photo: Mississippi Forestry Commission

Burn bans are requested by the County Board of Supervisors and approved by the Mississippi Forestry Commission. They usually last for at least 30 days.

Any person who knowingly and willfully violates a burning ban could be found guilty of a misdemeanor and may be fined.

Get a full list of burn bans and their expiration dates here. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s