62 Burn bans in effect in Mississippi as of today

UPDATE: 10/13/2016 10:30am The Mississippi Forestry Commission says that there are now 62 counties under a burn ban in the state.  That means that there are only twenty Mississippi counties that are not under the ban.

Graphic Credit: Mississippi Forestry Commission
Graphic Credit: Mississippi Forestry Commission

Original Story (with county list updated as of the last update):

JACKSON, Mississippi (WJTV) – Effective immediately a partial state level burn ban is in effect for fifty-nine Mississippi counties.

Most of the exemptions have been, temporarily at least, suspended.  Governor Phil Bryant issued the ban at the request of the Mississippi Forestry Commission, which reports that it “has responded to and suppressed 453 wildfires that burned 4,141 acres” since September 1, 2016.  “During this time,” according to a written release from the agency, “767 homes, commercial structures, and outbuildings were saved by MFC wildland firefighters, while 24 were destroyed or damaged.”

Because of low humidity values and an increase in winds forecast over the next week, a Fuels and Fire Behavior Advisory has been issued for Mississippi. Alabama, Tennessee, and parts of Georgia through October 21, 2016.


Graphic from: Georgaphic Area Coordination Centers (http://gacc.nifc.gov/)
Graphic from: Geographic Area Coordination Centers (http://gacc.nifc.gov/)


The advisory warns that fires in the area “will be very resistant to control efforts.”


Graphic Courtesy: Geographic Area Coordination Centers (http://gacc.nifc.gov/)
Graphic Courtesy: Geographic Area Coordination Centers (http://gacc.nifc.gov/)


As of this posting the full list of counties in the burn ban includes the following:

  • Adams
  • Alcorn
  • Amite
  • Attala
  • Benton
  • Bolivar
  • Calhoun
  • Carroll
  • Chickasaw
  • Choctaw
  • Claiborne
  • Clay
  • Coahoma
  • Copiah
  • DeSoto
  • Greene
  • Grenada
  • Hinds
  • Holmes
  • Humphreys
  • Issaquena
  • Itawamba
  • Jefferson Davis
  • Jones
  • Kemper
  • Lafayette
  • Lauderdale
  • Leake
  • Lee
  • Leflore
  • Lowndes
  • Madison
  • Marshall
  • Monroe
  • Montgomery
  • Neshoba
  • Newton
  • Noxubee
  • Oktibbeha
  • Panola
  • Pontotoc
  • Prentiss
  • Quitman
  • Rankin
  • Scott
  • Sharkey
  • Simpson
  • Smith
  • Sunflower
  • Tallahatchee
  • Tate
  • Tippah
  • Tishomingo
  • Tunica
  • Union
  • Warren
  • Washington
  • Wayne
  • Webster
  • Winston
  • Yalobusha
  • Yazoo


For the most up to date burn ban listing visit the Mississippi Forestry Commission’s Burn Ban page at: http://www.mfc.ms.gov/burn-bans.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s