Burn bans lifted for most Mississippi counties

JACKSON, Miss. (WJTV) — Burn bans have been lifted for most counties in Mississippi.

On Friday, Governor Phil Bryant signed a proclamation to lift the partial state level burn ban that has been in force since October 11.

The Mississippi Forestry Commission requested the Governor’s ban to be lifted due to the amount of precipitation received throughout the area covered by the partial state level burn ban.

“We would like to commend our MFC employees, and thank local Volunteer Fire Departments, who have done an outstanding job during this dangerous time. MFC Wildland Firefighters have been working day and night suppressing 1,166 wildfires that burned 10,943 acres since the beginning of September,” said Charlie Morgan, State Forester.  “Each one of them worked long hours to protect people’s lives, homes, and forestland.”

15 counties remain under current County Board of Supervisors burn ban: Calhoun, Claiborne, Franklin, George, Hinds, Jasper, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Kemper, Lafayette, Lawrence, Lincoln, Sharkey, Simpson, Stone

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s