Trump gets all 6 electoral votes in Mississippi

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) – Republican Donald Trump has received all six of Mississippi’s electoral votes for president. He won the state by a wide margin in November.

The state’s Electoral College members cast their votes Monday in Jackson. Other electors were meeting across the nation.

Mississippi’s electors are former Fayette Mayor Charles Evers, a radio host and brother of slain Mississippi NAACP leader Medgar Evers; Ann Herbert of Lucedale, who’s on the state Republican executive committee; Joe Frank Sanderson Jr. of Laurel, chairman and CEO of poultry company Sanderson Farms; J. Kelley Williams of Jackson, retired chairman and president of chemical company First Mississippi Corp.; William G. Yates Jr. of Philadelphia, chairman of Yates Construction; and Wirt A. Yerger Jr., of Jackson, a retired insurance broker who was state GOP chairman from 1956-1966.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s