9 Mississippi counties declared as federal disaster areas

Damage in Holmes County (Photo: WJTV)

(WJTV) — Gov. Phil Bryant said President Donald Trump declared nine Mississippi counties as federal disaster areas.

Adams, Calhoun, Carroll, Claiborne, Holmes, Jefferson, Montgomery, Webster and Yazoo counties have been declared disaster areas from the tornadoes that hit the state on April 30.

Those nine counties are eligible for Public Assistance, which is reimbursement grants to local governments and non-profit organizations for things like damage to infrastructure, debris removal, and overtime to responders.

Gov. Bryant’s request for Individual Assistance for residents of Holmes and Montgomery counties is still under review.

“I am grateful to President Trump’s administration for its partial approval of our request,” Gov. Bryant said. “I am hopeful that with more than 110 homes either destroyed or having sustained major damage in Holmes and Montgomery counties, that additional assistance will be approved to help some of our lowest income residents recover.”

Mississippi is also approved statewide for the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program, which is for measures/actions taken that reduce or eliminate long-term risk to people and property from natural hazards.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s