2 in runoff for Mississippi House seat in Hattiesburg area

HATTIESBURG, Miss. (AP) – Voters in two counties are choosing a new member of the Mississippi House.

Missy Warren McGee and Kathryn Rehner are in a runoff Tuesday in House District 102 in parts of Forrest and Lamar counties.

The winner will serve the final two years of a term started by Republican Toby Barker. He became Hattiesburg mayor July 1 – an office he won as an independent.

Candidates in Mississippi special elections run without party labels, but 51-year-old McGee is supported by Republicans and 27-year-old Rehner is supported by Democrats.

Republicans are trying to maintain their three-fifths supermajority in the 122-member state House, and the District 102 seat is vital to that effort.

(Copyright 2017 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s