Jackson city council approves 4 school board nominations

Jackson City Council Meeting (WJTV FILE PHOTO)

JACKSON, Miss. (WJTV) — The Jackson City Council approved four of the nominations that Mayor Chokwe Lumumba named for the JPS School Board.

The newest board members are Ed Sivak, Letitia Johnson, Barbara Hilliard and Jeanne Hairston.

“I’m excited about the rich experience the board members bring, to making JPS a transformational district. I am grateful to each of the board members for committing themselves to the children of JPS.”

Three more positions will have to be filled.

The last board resigned when the mayor, Gov. Phil Bryant, and Kellogg Foundation worked together to create the Better Together Commission, which consists of 15 members.

The Commission’s goal is to help transform the school district.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s