Mississippi Democrats choose caucus leaders

Left to right: Simmons, Blount (Photo: WJTV)

JACKSON, Miss. (WJTV) — Mississippi Democrats have chosen the leaders of their caucus.

The Democrats named  Derrick T. Simmons of Greenville as the chairman and David Blount of Jackson as vice-chairman.

Simmons, who was vice-chairman last year of the Mississippi Senate Democratic Caucus, moved up because of former Senator Bill Stone, who had been chairman, resigned to accept another job.

“I’m elated at the confidence my colleagues have placed in me, and I will work hard to push forward our people first oriented, Democratic agenda,” Simmons said.
Blount has served since 2008 and is chairman of the Senate Public Property committee and vice chairman of the Elections committee.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s